Date change on some files when changing exif rotation

Started by OldGrowth, December 22, 2020, 08:46:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OldGrowth

Hello,

I'm new to iMatch (just days) and still figuring out capability and workflow. I have about 275k images from a variety of sources. I have no DAM experience and am enjoying reading the documentation. As I reread I can begin to piece together the concepts and capabilities.

I used exif rotation to change the rotation of some images in my database. Afterward, I noticed some interesting behavior:

On images that were scans of negatives done by a lab over 15 years ago, which had only creation date and date/ time for exif data, those dates changed to today.

On images taken with a low quality cell phone camera, years ago (flip phone), where the exif dates were present and mostly correct, but the file name used an incorrect date in it, those dates changed to today.

On images that were taken with a good automatic digital camera, no date change seems to have occurred.

Q: Is a change in the date when using exif rotate expected behavior?

I have found all the images I rotated using filter.

Q: Is there a reasonable way to batch edit the exif dates to be what they were, for those that changed? I believe the only place that date exists now would be in a previous version of the file in my windows file history, which is live on another partition of the same drive.

Thank you community and developer for this forum!

OldGrowth

Mario

Hi, welcome to the community.

This is a common issue with files not having any usable EXIF date and time information.
In these cases IMatch falls back to filling the standard date values (See Metadata Panel, "Default layout") with the "Last modified on disk" timestamp reported by Windows.
And this of course changes when you modify the EXIF orientation info via the command.
See How IMatch uses Date and Time Information for details.