Trying to create a working database for 3 days

Started by andyk, April 18, 2021, 05:13:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

andyk

I'm currently using the trial to see if iMatch will work for my needs. I really want to like it, but it crashes almost every time i try to create a database. I've been trying for 3 days, with new database searches taking 3+ hours. I have a huge library of photos. I have been a photographer for 20 years. I've broken it down to smaller chunks and was able to get one database created successfully. I tried to add to it and it crashed again. It crashes at the end of adding the new images and won't reopen with that database, even after an attempted repair of the database. I've created a second database that is smaller than the first and it crashes. I'm starting to think there is something in that folder that is causing the crash.

What is my next step? Should i post the log here? Is there a maximum amount of photos that can be added to a database?

Thanks,
andy

Mario

This sounds strange.
Usually, even if IMatch crashes when ingesting a badly corrupted file, IMatch starts again and continues with the ingest process without any problems.

You did not give us much to work with in this post...

"What do you mean with "huge library" of images? 200,000 files? 2 million files?
On what kind of computer to you run IMatch?
Which file formats are you using?
On which kind of disk did you create the database?
Are your files on a local or locally attached disk or on a network server or NAS?

Please always ZIP and attach the log file (see log file) from the session where you experienced problems.
The log file tells us how IMatch is performing, what it was doing when the problem happened etc.

Note: Before you repeat your test, switch IMatch to debug logging (Help menu > Support).
When IMatch crashes again, make a copy of the log file before restarting IMatch. ZIP and attach to your reply.