Metadata problems due to old Nikon software

Started by bbuttolph, August 17, 2022, 02:21:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bbuttolph

Hello,

I have many photos taken years ago with a Nikon D200. I edited the files then with various Nikon software programs that I no longer use. I'm now having problems with editing these images in DxO PhotoLab, Nik, IMatch, etc. because of problems that were made to the metadata by these old programs.

I'm a photo hobbyist and need only core fundamental metadata. What are the commands I should use in the ExifTool Command Processor to delete legacy IPTC metadata and anything else that isn't needed in my case?

Attached is the Metadata Analyst report. Also an image of the tag that keeps reappearing...

QuoteIf you experience issues like vanishing keywords or reappearing keywords after writing back a file, the typical reason is out-of-sync keywords in the file, especially in combination with legacy IPTC metadata.

I'm using IMatch 2021.16.4.

Thanks,
Brian

Mario

Various Nikon software did very obscure things with metadata and maker notes.
Show us the Metadata Analysis results for one of your files. Use the GREEN button at the top to copy warnings and errors into the clipboard and then paste into your post.
I don't have the time to manually analyze hundreds of KB data in the JSON file, sorry.

Most likely, the Nikon software has stored legacy IPTC data in your files, and IMatch is unable to automatically map between flat and hierarchical keywords. This can happen if your thesaurus does not match your keyword hierarchy and thus IMatch cannot properly map flat to hierarchical keywords during import.

In most cases it helps to delete the legacy IPTC keywords via the ExifTool Command Processor or even delete the old IPTC data entirely and use only EXIF and XMP for these files.

Make a copy of one of the files which cause you problems. Just do a quick Ctrl+C, Ctrl+V in an IMatch File Window.