Is there a way to have a folder event only include files in a subfolder

Started by stefanjan2, January 06, 2024, 06:51:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stefanjan2

I have created an event based on a top level folder with subfolders containing mainly RAW Files and below that folders containing jpegs folder name "Processed".

I'm currently filtering by file name "\.jpg" to include only processed jpegs. This mainly works except I have a few master jpeg images taken on my phone with processed jpegs in the processed folders.

I'm wondering whether it is possible to include a filter for "processed" subfolder.  I checked the help topic and it looks like this is not possible.

Mario

No. Else it would be mentioned in the documentation.
Maybe not include sub-folders? Maybe make an event from a manual selection of files, including files you don't want to include in the event.

Not all fringe cases can be covered without making events overly complex. And most users only need simple and hate complex.

There are many ways to create events, and if the way folder-based events work don't work for your particular folder structure, consider another way.

Manual event based on selected files? Works pretty well, unless you plan to change the folder contents later.
Setup a category based on a @RFolder formula and a NOT formula that excludes the processed folder. Then create an event based on that category?
-- Mario
IMatch Developer
Forum Administrator
http://www.photools.com  -  Contact & Support - Follow me on 𝕏 - Like photools.com on Facebook

stefanjan2

Thanks for confirming not possible to do this with events.

As an alternative approach, I'm wondering whether it would be possible to create a data driven category which returns all .jpg files in folders named "processed" e.g.
2024\2024-01-01\processed\*.*
2024\2024-01-05\processed\*.*

I could then use the category in a filter.