Setting up DB for first time: video files take way long

Started by evanwieren, May 27, 2024, 11:26:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

evanwieren

Hello... I'm new to iMatch... or rather, I have finally committed to the software. I have just started to create the DB of all my images/video. There are over 100k stored on a NAS. I tried once to add the whole thing at once and... well, after seeing an estimated completion time of 200+ hours, I stopped. I am now adding the subfolder to result in smaller batches. 
I've noticed that during the add process, video files take WAY longer than image files. I'm curious what I can do to speed the whole process up.
I'm cool with adding them later (i.e. is there a way to add only image files and then video later?).
I'm cool with having some way to add them "quickly" and then to process occasionally at some later date.
Heck... maybe (but not likely), I'd be ok with the video files not even being in the DB!

Any help would be super helpful.
TIA
Ed

Mario

NAS storage is the "worst case" for indexing, of course.
A NAS responds up to 1,000 times slower than a SSD plugged into your PC.

To index (add to your database) IMatch has to read the file once to get a checksum, file information etc. ExifTool has to read the file to extract metadata. FFMPeg has to read the file once to produce thumbnails. If the video file is large and the NAS is slow, this will reduce performance considerably. A video file stored on a NAS may take 100 to 1,000 times as long to process than the same video stored on a disk on the computer running IMatch. It's just physics, nothing IMatch can do about it. The video file has to be transferred from the NAS to your PC so Windows can cache it and IMatch, ExifTool and FFMPeg can process it. How fast this is depends entirely on the speed of your NAS, network and the size of the video files.