First feedback and first questions

Started by Dominique R, October 06, 2024, 09:01:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dominique R

Hello everyone, hello Mario

First of all, let me introduce myself. My name is Dominique. I am a photographer and content creator on YouTube (in French). I create tutorials about photography.

For a few years now, I have been using Photomechanic as a DAM. Since it did not meet all of my workflow, I looked into alternative solutions. I tested many of them. Long live the free trial period. I must say that none of those tested met my expectations until I discovered IMatch.

I started by reading a lot of the excellent online documentation. Which for me is already a very good point for the software. I then noticed that there was a forum where people came to ask their questions and receive answers. Another very good point.

After spending a week learning and watching all the videos, I decided today to install the trial version.

Another good point that I did not expect is that the software interface can be put in French. Personally, English does not bother me but it may be important for people who follow me.

After this presentation and all these good points mentioned, here are my first remarks.

I specify that I am on Windows 10 22h2 build 19045.4894

I wanted to import some RAW+Jpeg files from my Panasonic S5 mk2 camera. The RAW files in RW2 format from this camera do not show me thumbnails. I started looking on the forum and found that I was not the only one having this kind of problem with the RW2 files of the panasonic (problem of integrated thumbnail size, problem of WIC codecs, LibRAW problem, etc.)
I tested raw files coming from some of my cameras like the canon 5D mk4, the canon 60D, the sony ZV1Mk2 and the lumix GX8. For these cameras, all the thumbnails are displayed perfectly.

On the forum I saw that we could use the WIC diagnostic utility. Another excellent point. I launch it and check the 5 different types of RAW files.