Performance of metadata write back

Started by MoeDiMa, October 11, 2014, 04:03:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MoeDiMa

Hi,

I am new to IMatch, coming from IDimager (which didn't like the big files generated by my new camera) and trying to figure out the best way for me to work with IMatch.

During playing around with IMatch, I found a big performance issue with metadata writeback. It takes about 3 to 10 s per file, and sometimes locks up completely.

While trying to find the root cause for the slow performance, I found that exiftool rewrites the picture file twice (see the attached capture of the output window), which somehow seems strange to me.
Also, sometimes the exiftool process seems to stop responding. After 180s, IMatch returns with an error message stating that the metadata have not been updated. The logfile says "PTWrapper hangs in ProcessRun for 180000 ms", followed by the exiftool commandline (which looks basically the same as the capture from the output window). When this happened, it is not possible to do metadata writebacks anymore without a restart of IMatch.

The pictures are located on a Synology NAS (DS 214), connected by Gigabit-LAN. I am aware of slower performance of operations on NAS storage, but currently the metadata writeback is simply not possible.

Do you have some suggestions for me to improve the performance and/or at least preventing the lock ups?

[attachment deleted by admin]

Mario

Hi,

Depending on the file format, the data to update, the Metadata and Metadata 2 options, your custom settings and MWG compliance rules, IMatch may need to update a file twice, especially if the first write causes 'new' metadata to be created.