How do you create a UNC share in Win 8.1?

Started by GKent, April 18, 2015, 08:23:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GKent

In the section on Sharing IMatch Databases>Location of Database, it says, "Users can then open the database either via a mapped drive or, better, via an UNC share." I have searched the web for a couple of hours now and I cannot figure out how to create a UNC share in Windows 8.1. Is that possible? If so, how? Thanks in advance for the help.  -- Greg

Mario

-- Mario
IMatch Developer
Forum Administrator
http://www.photools.com  -  Contact & Support - Follow me on 𝕏 - Like photools.com on Facebook

Carlo Didier

There isn't anything like a "UNC share" really. You can share something (like a folder on a harddisk) and UNC is just a way of indicating the path to access something. See Wikipedia (scroll down to "Uniform Naming Convention").

GKent

Thanks for the help.

I still do not see how do to this. I am new to Windows 8.1.  I am jumping to 8.1 from XP.  In XP I knew how to map a drive, and I think that in XP, instead of navigating to find what I would want to share, instead it is better to type in the path. But in Win 8.1 there isn't anything about mapping a drive, only about sharing, and the link that Mario gave says nothing about UNC. And I can't find anything in the Win 8.1 share process that lets me type in a path.

Sorry if I'm not describing things well, or maybe am just plain confused, which, admittedly I am.

Any more pointers?

Greg

Mario

All Windows versions support the UNC path naming convention. It's just a way to access a share without the need to map a drive.
-- Mario
IMatch Developer
Forum Administrator
http://www.photools.com  -  Contact & Support - Follow me on 𝕏 - Like photools.com on Facebook

GKent

I understand what is being done, just not how in Win 8.1. And the "how" is what I have spent so much time researching on the web and not finding an answer.