Reuters Issues a Worldwide Ban on RAW Photos

Started by Mario, November 25, 2015, 11:06:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mario

-- Mario
IMatch Developer
Forum Administrator
http://www.photools.com  -  Contact & Support - Follow me on 𝕏 - Like photools.com on Facebook

sinus

Quote from: Mario on November 25, 2015, 11:06:21 AM
See the info on the photools.com Facebook page or here

Sorry, they are idiots.
And to excuse this with speed is ridiculous (when time is necessary, then photographers can shoot anyway in jpg).
Best wishes from Switzerland! :-)
Markus

Menace

I can also manipulate jpgs (Uses Tele, PS, ...). Strange behaviour.

RalfC

Quote from: sinus on November 25, 2015, 11:27:59 AM
And to excuse this with speed is ridiculous (when time is necessary, then photographers can shoot anyway in jpg).
OK, I am not a professional photographer but I think that most press photographers are using JPEG anyway (if they want to sell quickly). So for most that would not be a change and from speed/exclusive rights point of view that surely makes sense.

You need to remember that the first agency offering photos from a news event will be selling (others might not sell anymore although the photos are paid). It is all about making money...

Quote from: Menace on November 25, 2015, 11:35:42 AM
I can also manipulate jpgs (Uses Tele, PS, ...). Strange behaviour.

That is true but the limits are coming earlier and might get quicker visible, showing that the image was manipulated (to dramatize a certain aspect?).

I also remember that Reuters had to withdraw a photo from Beirut because the sky / smoke in the sky had been edited: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adnan_Hajj_photographs_controversy

Surely, they want to avoid similar episodes as they harm the credibility.

Regards,
Ralf

sinus

Quote from: RalfC on November 25, 2015, 05:05:48 PM
Quote from: sinus on November 25, 2015, 11:27:59 AM