Deleted IPTC reapears

Started by clpratt, February 26, 2016, 09:37:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

clpratt

I have stripped IPTC from approx 22,000 files using the Exif Tool Command Processor, but I have 12 jpg files where the IPTC keeps reappearing.
I run the ETCP using argument
-overwrite_original_in_place
-IPTC=
{Files}
Testing the problem with just 1 file the ETCP output box says "1 image files updated". Then I close ETCP.
After a few seconds IMatch starts to update the Metadata panel, the Metadata panel's IPTC Application Record clears then a few seconds later all the IPTC data reappears.
I have the ExifTool Output panel open throughout. It is saying "Warning: Error converting value for ExifIFD:SubSecTimeDigitized (ValueConvInv)". Perhaps that is the clue to the problem.
I have attached one of the images to see if it helps diagnose the problem.
Many thanks

[attachment deleted by admin]

Menace

I am not an expert in this. Maybe it helps, if you try

-IPTC:All=
{Files}

clpratt

Thanks Menace, but still the same problem.

Mario

I downloaded the file. It contains standard IIM IPTC data.
I removed the data using the ECP, with

-iptc:all=
{Files}

IMatch re-imports the file and the pen icon reports that IPTC keywords and XMP subject needs to be written. In this case, maybe something got stuck. Using the Shift+Ctrl+F5 again to re-import the metadata fresh, correctly resets the IPTC data flags and only the XMP data will be written.

Without spending too much time on this, figuring out when and why this happens, I would say just refresh the metadata manually once, then write-back. If this solves the issue, we let it rest. Else, open a bug report so I can allocate a slot of time to analyze this in detail.
-- Mario
IMatch Developer
Forum Administrator
http://www.photools.com  -  Contact & Support - Follow me on 𝕏 - Like photools.com on Facebook

clpratt

Mario,
manually refreshing the metadata does not solve the problem.
I have opened a bug report.

Mario