Guide for absolute beginner

Started by tjmillar, May 26, 2016, 12:09:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tjmillar

I'm looking for a guide to getting started. I've created the database, now I need to assign keywords and categories and whatever else I'm supposed to do to thousands of images.

I have a date-based folder structure but no keywords or labels or categories. Everything I can find in help is about the specifics of how to do that, and about what is possible once I've done it, and how to use the database when it's finished. The quick-start guide, for example, is mostly about keyboard shortcuts, which I'm sure will be great when I know what I need a shortcut for. But I need something much more basic that all that. Right now, at the absolute beginning, I don't need a shortcut because I don't know where I'm going.

I'm not looking for an answer to a specific question, mostly because I don't know enough to know what question to ask. I need a magazine article, or a video tutorial about the first steps in building a useful and comprehensive keyword/category structure. I'm worried about starting to work through my folder structure and assigning keywords and categories and then realising I've got something wrong or forgotten some important keyword and having to go back through all the images and start again. I'm worried about what I don't know enough to ask about, or to that I don't realise is something I need to learn.