General Question to @Keywords

Started by Richard Knobloch, October 06, 2016, 04:24:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Richard Knobloch

Hi Community,

as it is not possible to search dedicated for @keywords (it generates a database error...) I do post my question here. Maybe there was an answer earlier but...

I hope, I understood the pupose of the @keywords correctly as they should reflect (mirror) the keywords, already stored in the files.
In former times I just used a couple of Excel Spreadsheet for keeping track of my thousands of pictures and used a Tool (Fotoverwaltung - which is a Excel Spreadsheet with a couple of Macros, including an external Tool 'exiftool' for reading and writing data), for managing EXIF and IPTC Data. I used theam, as I thought it must be correct, because I am just an amateur in photographing.
I now found out, by using iMatch, that I misused the IPTC's catagories with content, which should not be public. My intention was to store these informations only in my spreadsheets.
These categories are now stored in iMatch as @keywords. This is, what I understood.
Now I want to get rid of these categories. I used categories, selected one of these @categories so I got a list of all files using this category. By selecting all of this files I could verify, that the category panel shhowed me an "X" as all of the files are using this category. To get rid of this, I deselected this catagory. The result is, that I now have a collections of unnwritten metadata. I pressed Shift-ctrl-m to write the metadata back to disk. This should rewrite all selected files and storing empty IPTC categories. If the process ends, all of the "unwritten metadata" are gone and the collection shows a sum of 0 files. Now iMatch rereads the Metadata again (I have no idea why iMatch dows this) and after this all of the assumed @Keywords are back again. Same amount of files as before.