Formula to find a string sequence not doing what I'd like.

Started by photophart, January 29, 2020, 05:23:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

photophart

I'm VERY new to iMatch and am impressed so far. I'm trying to write a formula for a category that will return all files with a filename that contains this: "_print" as part of the filename.
I've tried using "@FileRegExp[_print]" and this does return files that contain the _print string but it also returns files that begin with "_", the underscore. Which is not what I'm after.
Regular expressions are a new area for me, I'm learning, but still a bit lost. I also tried "@FileRegExp[_print$]" which also doesn't seem to be correct.
My background leans more toward SQL so what I need is an expression that does something like: $ contains *"_print"*. Hope that makes sense.
Regards, Mark

Mario

Tip: If you use the RegExp tester app, you can test your regular expressions easily. You find it in the App Manager panel.

I've made a quick check with two files:

beach_print.jpg
_beach.jpg

and this formula:

"@FileRegExp[_print]"

The formula only returns beach_print.jpg but not _beach.jpg
Make sure to enclose the formula in ".

Note: Using this formula forces IMatch to search your entire database by file name every time the category needs to be refreshed. This can bring down performance quite a bit.
-- Mario
IMatch Developer
Forum Administrator
http://www.photools.com  -  Contact & Support - Follow me on 𝕏 - Like photools.com on Facebook

ubacher

Are you sure you need a category for this?
I do something like this with a filter preset- filter by file name: ends with: _print
( And of course you could just use the search function by typing in "_print". )
IM gives you many ways!

A category will be of use if you want to do some extensive filtering; for just selecting files having this name pattern a category is (IMHO) overkill.

photophart