Help starting fresh with iMatch 2020

Started by godspeedjas, March 01, 2020, 10:27:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

godspeedjas

I've spent way too many months trialing and researching DAM software for my every growing image/video catalog.  i am an amateur photog, just a dad taking pictures/videos of his kids, but of all the software i have used before, imatch, to me, seems the best at what i am looking for...a very customizable tool to organize my digital life.  However, because of its level of customization, it can be a pretty daunting task to understand everything that is "under the hood".  So i am asking forum members the best way for me to "start fresh" with iMatch...

I have been using ACDSee for years, and all my image imports were done via ACDSee importer, which, of course, adds metadata (to its own proprietary XMP tags).  I have even used some of their keywording and rating tools, but not extensively, since they use their own proprietary tags, and i wanted something more portable (like iMatch).

is there a way to setup iMatch so that when i add all my existing photo and video folders (in batches), that it will NOT import any keywords, headlines, titles, ratings, etc...essentially, a clean XMP record with no proprietary tags that ACDSEE or other software that i may have used in the past?

I want to basically start from the beginning of my image archive, and keyword/face tag all my 100,000+ images/videos using iMatch, without any other keywords or other XMP metadata getting in the way (if that makes sense).  I will have the iMatch thesaurus setup with my organized list of keywords, and then devote the next few months/years tackling the keywording challenge...

thanks in advance!

Mario

Quoteis there a way to setup iMatch so that when i add all my existing photo and video folders (in batches), that it will NOT import any keywords, headlines, titles, ratings, etc.

No. The key point of a DAM is proper metadata management.