How to Find AND Delete Duplicates

Started by GKent, April 08, 2015, 01:27:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GKent

I'm new to IMatch. My wife used IMatch 3 a long time ago. Now we have upgraded to IMatch 5.

Mario has been helping me with setup issues, but now that I'm starting to deal with use issues, I don't want to keep bothering him.

We have a huge duplicate issue. Folders and folders of duplicates. Let's narrow this to binary duplicates.

I'm using Windows 8.1, so in File Explorer, by clicking around a little, and doing some searches, it is not so difficult for me to find the folders of duplicates. But I don't know how to do this in IMatch 5.  So for now I'm going to do a combination of finding my duplicate folders using File Explorer, but delet those folders in IMatch, so I keep my IMatch database in sync.

But I would think there there would be a way to do what I am wanting in IMatch. I have read the Help section on finding Duplicates, but what I'd like to find in Help is a section on "Finding and Deleting Duplicates," if this is a common issue, which I would think it would be, but maybe not.

Mario guided me to use the @All in my Categories, in order to get a search of all of my photos. So I did that, and then used a Search>Duplicates. But what do I do next?

I'm guessing that 80% of my duplicates are in whole folders that I can delete. And then I will be down to the 20% that are mixed in with other photos in folders, so that I won't want to delete the folder.

So, I think I'm wanting a procedure for finding a deleting duplicate folders and then a procedure for finding and deleting individual duplicate photos.