Confusion on categories and keywords (edited)

Started by greg, March 07, 2017, 11:45:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

greg

Hi,

This is my first attempt at iMatch, so I'm struggling with some basic operations.

I have hierarchical  keyword trees, many from xmp sidecar files, that originated from Lightroom and another digital asset manager. After reading help I see categories are keywords. Now that I know that I'm still having trouble with thumbnails going missing when I move a category (keyword) to another branch.

How do the categories relate to the keyword manager, as they don't show up there?

jch2103

A quick response to part of your post:

The Categories tab includes both @Keywords and 'regular' IMatch categories: @Keywords reflects keywords in your files (including hierarchical keywords, as you've seen), whereas 'regular' categories exist just in the database (that is, not inside the images). Depending on your specific needs, you may want to use one or the other, or both.

Think of the thesaurus as a 'lookup' reference. You can populate the thesaurus from @Keywords; see the Universal Thesaurus entry in the Help (F1), and in particular 'Import from Database'. Note that the thesaurus doesn't automatically reflect what's in @Keywords; instead, it's used to make entry of new items easier. You can also import thesaurus entries from other sources, including controlled vocabularies.

The IMatch Help is very extensive and should provide useful information.
John

greg

I now know why the thumbnails weren't being displayed and it was nothing to do with moving the keyword branch. It just happened that the files that were referenced by the keyword were dng files. I can work on getting dng files displayed.

Mario

IMatch supports DNG files by default. Files added to the database don't vanish just because you change the keyword.